NaNoWriMo Has Nothing to Do With Mork

Diesel Malibu bookseller Joey Puente is writing a novel! In his own words:

November! It’s generally a pretty good month. You eat a ton of Halloween candy, cause it’s there, you prepare to eat tons of food on that last Thursday, and you write a novel.

A novel?

Yes, Virginia, a novel. You see, November is National Novel Writing Month, and there’s 30 days to write down 50,000 words. Maybe some of them are good words, maybe not. That’s not really the point of the whole thing. It’s a month to write yourself into utter abandon — every idea in your head, every silly notion, everything that you’ve held back for so long gets to come out this month. It’s like therapy with a keyboard.

This is my first year participating and I’m having a great time taking the filter off and letting loose without worrying about what people think of what I’m writing. I’m on word 16,476, which is just under a third of the way done with the goal. The earlier words are not words I like right now, but I’m holding back on editing; that’s for December. The biggest thing of NaNoWriMo is that you need to keep momentum, and you don’t gain momentum by going backwards. The more I write, the better I feel I am getting, and it’s hard to believe that I actually wrote those things in the beginning chapters. So I’m looking at those early words from a third of the way through the novel perspective, and I’m sure the words I think are so awesome now are going to be terrible 10,000 words from now. Currently, I decided that I needed to take a break from all the writing and came in to work, you know, to recharge the batteries for a little while.

Where they set me to writing again, but I guess that’s life.

You can track Joey’s progress here. Diesel Brentwood bookseller Anna Kaufman is also participating and you can track her progress here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

