And the Children Shall Lead

Elise in Oakland reports:

For those of you out on the interwebz who don’t know much about me, let me start this post by telling you that I have two jobs. My primary job, simply put, is teaching elementary school students how to read. On a daily basis I will see 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th graders. I love my job and am borderline obsessed with trying to get these kids into reading.

My second job is at a certain bookstore. I also love this job. I get to spend my weekends talking about and selling books (lots of kids lit!) and making displays.

Can you sense a common thread here?

In an effort to develop professionally and sell more books, I have embarked upon a self-motivated, self-created challenge. That challenge is to read at least one of the Newbery Medal winners or Newbery Honor Books awarded each year for the past 15 years, as well as the same number of Caldecott Medal winners. While I may derive some personal pleasure and satisfaction from this, I swear it is strictly about professional development.

I keep a record of my adventures in kids’ lit on my blog, so you can follow along with me through Newbery and Caldecott winners past. Most recently I empathized with the work of Kevin Henkes and enjoyed The Best Week Ever with Marla Frazee.

You can keep expanding your horizons with Jon Stich in Oakland’s reading of Eric Baus‘ “Dead Birds, There Is No Natural Light in Here”:

Check out the full archive of poetry videos here!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

