Top Big Top Books

Cheryl in Brentwood reports:

Today is Circus Day, commemorating the opening of the Ringling Brothers Circus in 1884. Now, I’m not a huge fan of the circus, one reason being that I think clowns are creepy. (I’m not alone on this!) And yet, some of my favorite books are about the circus: Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, Geek Love by Katherine Dunn, Circus ABC by Jason D’Aquino, and The Circus of Dr. Lao by Charles G. Finney. What draws me to these stories are the sideshows filled with genetically altered humans, mythical beasts, and mysterious people preying on your darkest fears and desires–which, I’m sure you’ll agree, are not nearly as creepy as clowns.

On a related note, I was recently invited to an author’s dinner for the upcoming book Creepiosity by David Bickel. Of course I had to attend (that’s me third from the left):

Fortunately there were no clowns, but I did try the chicken feet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

