On Our Nightstand, July 27th-August 2nd

Here’s what we’re reading this week at Diesel!

Anna in Brentwood
Breakfast at Tiffany’s
By Truman Capote
This is embarrassing to admit, but I’ve never seen the 1961 movie nor read Capote’s 1958 novella. I’m loving the latter, and the accompanying short stories, however: they’re subtly insightful and sort of sneakily moving. I want to see the film now, but even more I want to read more of Capote’s work!

Colin in Oakland
Ghostwalk
By Rebecca Stott
I don’t usually read mysteries, but this book is really well written, evoking Cambridge, England, in the 17th century and weaving an atmospheric spell. Plus it features ghosts, romance, animal liberation terrorists, and Isaac Newton! What more could you want?

Geo in Brentwood
America Day by Day
By Simone de Beauvoir
In preparation for an upcoming road trip, I thought I’d learn about this ‘Great American Experience’ from a Frenchwoman.

John Evans
When That Rough God Goes Riding: Listening to Van Morrison
By Greil Marcus
One of the greatest contemporary musical visionaries gets the full treatment by one of our most fascinating cultural critics. Mystical music-making meets brilliantly visceral criticism–loving it!

Thea in Malibu
Eat, Pray, Love
By Elizabeth Gilbert
So I’m a little tardy hopping onto the bandwagon for this one, but better late than never. A soul-searching story of finding happiness and spirituality in different corners of the world, Eat, Pray, Love has made me think about where I find joy in my own life.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On Our Nightstand, July 27th-August 2nd

  1. Anna– the movie is wonderful (and so is the song by Deep Blue something, haha). I would HIGHLY recommend In Cold Blood if you haven’t read it. It’s quite different from Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and I think it has more interesting things to say.

    • trinityofone

      I HAD THAT GORRAM SONG STUCK IN MY HEAD THE ENTIRE TIME I WAS READING THIS BOOK. IT WAS THE WORST PART OF THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE BY FAR. I HOPE CAPOTE IS HAUNTING DEEP BLUE SOMETHING LIKE CRAZY.

      Anyway… Yes, In Cold Blood is on my short list. We must do the movie thing! Maybe before Rocky Horror?

Leave a Reply

